Private security companies (PSCs) are a key enabler to companies operating overseas in fragile states, thereby contributing indirectly as well as directly to the economic growth.  Clients rightly expect their security to be provided by highly reputable companies.  The private security sector has worked proactively with governments and NGOs over the past decade to achieve international agreements and standards that test and monitor the professionalism of individual companies. The UK sector has led this work, since 2011 under the umbrella of the Security in Complex Environments Group (SCEG), the UK Government’s industry partner on standards and regulation.

All SCEG Companies support the UK Government’s approach to the regulation of companies who operate in this sector. SCEG encourages adherence to voluntary codes and associations coupled with rigorous independent third-party accredited certification against approved international standards. SCEG members are expected to be compliant with evolving human rights legislation, regulations and principles as relevant and applicable to security in complex environments. These include the UN Global Compact, UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights, Voluntary Principles on Security and Human Rights, the International Code of Conduct for Private Security Service Providers, the Modern Slavery Act and the Montreux Document.


SCEG Companies are required to demonstrate that they have achieved internationally accredited certification or intend within 2 years of joining SCEG to be certified, against relevant standards including where appropriate PSC1, ISO 18788 and ISO 28007 depending on the nature of the company’s operations. These standards are important and clients considering contracting with a security company should ask for evidence of certification which has been produced by an internationally accredited certification body.

Within SCEG currently there are 3 associate members who are Certification Bodies accredited under the International Accreditation Forum Multilateral Recognition Forum (IAF MLA) by the United Kingdom Accreditation Service.  Those CBs are authorised to issue accredited certification to security companies who have successfully completed a rigorous third-party audit process which covers from Board level out to the physical point of service delivery – often in austere and challenging environments, covering policy, procedures, and practice, and encompassing human rights obligations. (Note that IAF MLA accredited certification to one of these standards is a key defining milestone requirement in achieving ICoCA Certification). The 3 Certification Bodies are: 


ukas with number United Kingdom Accreditation Service


UKAS Guidance For Certification Bodies Certifying Private Maritime Security Companies Against ISO 28000/ISO 28007-1:2015. Edition 1, October 2015

ISO 28007 (Maritime)

PSC1 (Land)

ISO 18788



Last updated Oct 2019